First Day @ School: OOTD

Well, it’s finally passed! I believe that everyone at my school, thankfully including me, has survived the first day. Yay, time to celebrate! Or cry, or do homework (that’s what I’m taking a break from right now, shh it’s a secret!), whatever floats your boat I guess. While I definitely love school and all the friends that I’ve met because of it, I am the kind of person to stress out about the tiniest of things, making each and every assignment a PAIN. But no worries, more blog posts about school, study habits, and how to deal with stress or being overwhelmed will come later! Before that point though, I do want to fit in some posts about fashion while I still actually feel like dressing cute for school (we all hit that point during the school year when you switch from a dress to sweats, admit it). And what better way to introduce my series of fashion throughout the school year than starting off with my first day of school outfit?

DSC_0004DSC_0011DSC_0046DSC_0041DSC_0013DSC_0005

DSC_0015
Tee-shirt dress: American Eagle. Birkenstock sandals: Dillard’s. Black wide-brimmed hat: Amazon. Black bralette: Amazon. Silver rings: Claire’s and an assortment of boutiques. Silver charm bracelet: Aeropostale. Silver cross anklet and black watch: A flea market, haha!

Now, you’ll learn that whenever I CAN dress up (or find some excuse to), I will. I absolutely love styling myself in dresses, skirts, and heels (maybe not for school, but events where I can take them off after 4 hours). I have way too many fancy rompers and cute little dresses to let them go to waste, so I have to wear them somehow! Plus, I strongly believe that the saying ‘you are what you eat’ applies to fashion as well. You are how you dress! If you put on some clothes that make you look beautiful and confident, then you will be! Side note: If you can look beautiful and confident in a tee shirt and some exercise shorts, then more power to ya!

Wow, I really could keep writing, but I’m sure you’ve clicked on this to find out the details of my back to school outfit, so I GUESS I’ll give them to you. (:

The first day is a challenging look. You want to look cute for pictures with your friends, show off your own personal style, and also make a good impression on your teachers, which sadly does often start with looks. To achieve all this, I decided to go with a tee shirt dress; I like to consider my style “au courant and casual”, so I felt that a relaxed dress was a good way to show this off (au courant is just a fancy French word that translates to “fashionable”, but I think the alliteration is fun and it sounds so sophisticated). Plus, I thought the stripes and pop of coral was kind of fun, and definitely makes an impression!

I then added black accessories all throughout my outfit to match the thin black stripes in my dress. I wore my trusty pair of Birkenstock sandals which I’m almost positive were part of the reason I made it through the day! They’re super comfy, and very relaxed-looking, but since they’re sandals they make a perfect fit for a summer outfit like this one! Plus, they helped dress down the rest of my outfit so I didn’t look too over the top or anything (just my personal style preference, I like to dress things up but not THAT much for an occasion such as this).

Following that, I incorporated in a black lace bralette that peeks out at the top of the dress to add one more pop of black at the top of my outfit to balance things out. Let me tell you, they’re (again, like the shoes) super comfy and great for adding an extra accessory when you’re in need of one. Plus, with the open-back dress, I needed something that wouldn’t come up too high, so my low-rise bralette did just the trick!

I only put on the hat after school let out for the day. I decided it was a bit much for school (wouldn’t want to be the reason someone couldn’t see the board, haha!), but I’m so glad that I put it on for running my errands after school. The black wide-brimmed hat really emphasized the “au courant” part of my style, as I was saying earlier. Underneath the hat, I decided to keep my hair pretty natural; while I don’t always like how my hair looks in the mornings, it wasn’t too bad today, and what better way to show people who you are than with crazy, wavy, messy hair, am I right!?

For the finishing touches, I kept the jewelry to a minimum with a couple silver “sparkles” here and there. I finally found some rings that somehow fit my pinky, so I was especially excited to walk out the door wearing those! The silver charm necklace you’ll learn is something I wear a lot since my boyfriend gave it to me last year for my birthday. I absolutely love how soft and subtle it is, yet how it can still make such a difference in an outfit. I also added my favorite anklet with a silver cross decoration. How cute! Lastly, I paired a silver charm bracelet with my fun black watch to tie all the accessories and jewelry together!

I haven’t had time to research where you could obtain certain pieces from this outfit, so if you want details on where I got them/where you could go, look at the caption under the last photo if you haven’t already! I will warn you, quite a few of these things I got at thrift stores, for example, the dress, but you should still be able to find something close enough at that same store or a similar retailer.

I hope that for all the school-goers out there you had an amazing first day, too! And I’m sure you all looked fantastic for that picture mom or dad made you take in the morning before heading off to school! If you have any questions about my outfit or have trouble finding something similar, I’d love it if you emailed me, messaged me on social media, or just simply commented below! And of course, I’m always fan of feedback so let me know what you think of this outfit and if there’s anything you’d like to see me post about in the future! Praying for an amazing school year and/or fall of fun, laughs, and great memories for all of you. (:

Kisses,

Kay

5 thoughts on “First Day @ School: OOTD

Leave a comment