The Greek Festival: Opa!

Another fun fact about me that I actually left out of my About page and last blog post: on my dad’s side, my entire family is Greek! I’ve been to Greece to visit family before, and can’t wait to go back there again this summer with my classmates! But of course, being Greek means that you not only look a little Greek, but you “act” Greek, dance like a Greek, throw plates like a Greek, and eat Greek. Hey, I’m not complaining.

Greek food: it’s honestly fantastic

DSC_0192I’ve always grown up eating variations of Greek recipes and going out to eat at Greek restaurants, so naturally I’m used to it. But if you haven’t tried Greek food, DO IT. A couple of my favorites are:

  • Fasolakia Yiahni – green beans in a tomato sauce
  • Spanakopita – kind of like a flaky spinach pie that tastes super unhealthy and awesome (in the picture above)
  • Tiropita – the same thing, just with cheese and not spinach (in the picture above)
  • Pita and hummus – it’s self explanatory
  • Greek salad with feta cheese – it’s obviously good
  • Roasted potatoes
  • And whatever this DELICIOUS dessert was up there, they called it the Napoleon I think… oh man, I’ll be seeing this little pastry in my dreams tonight
Greek music: that’s fantastic too

Now this guy was absolutely amazing and so talented- he played very intricate Greek tunes while professional performers danced around the stage. It wasn’t long until kids ran up to join in! It’s hard to not smile or laugh when listening to Greek music and watching everyone having so much fun!

Greek style: the best part!

White tank: Charlotte Russe. Patterned shorts: the brand “Mine”. Layering bracelets: Charlotte Russe. Gold leaf necklace: Forever 21. Brown gladiator sandals: Payless

I tried to add a touch of Grecian island look to my outfit just to be in the spirit! The white, blue, and gold kind of mimics the rooftops in Santorini, my absolute favorite place I’ve ever been to yet!

And lastly, you can’t forget all the Greek accessories you can buy at their mini market! I always have so much fun looking at the jewelry and souvenirs you can buy there, and always strive to add one more thing each year to my little collection. Below, I’m modeling my newly acquired “Blessed” bracelet as my souvenir for this year. And how perfect is that for my blog tagline?! Funny how things work out. (:

DSC_0265.jpg

I strongly urge all of you to go out and visit more festivals like this. They’re seriously super duper fun, and it’s so amazing to walk in and feel like everyone there is your family. Plus, smashing plates lets out a lot of anger and stress from the week, so it’s really a win-win!

Have fun this summer, stay in style, and just let loose you guys! I sincerely hope you all have an amazing weekend. I’ll be back soon with some pictures and information from my trip to Washington D.C.! Yay!

Kisses,

Kay

5 thoughts on “The Greek Festival: Opa!

Leave a comment