Quite the Complementary Look: OOTD!

Whew, it’s been quite the week! I’m very happy to say that I’ve finally finished my first full week of sophomore year AND am not failing any of my classes, haha! It’s been a little hectic trying to get into the swing of things, so it’s been a bit since I’ve written and had the chance to post something on here. But hey, it’s the weekend! So here’s to finding the free time to do the things you love, not stressing (too much), and cute school outfits that give you just the confidence you need to get through the day. (;

DSC_0070DSC_0062DSC_0074DSC_0078DSC_0085DSC_0059DSC_0080

DSC_0067
Mustard tank top: Forever 21. Dark wash skinny jeans: Forever 21. Brown strappy sandals: Target. Brown shoulder bag: Target. Floral headband: Forever 21. Brown sunflower watch: Francesca’s.

If you’ve read the caption of the last picture, you’ll realize that most of this outfit actually comes from Forever 21! And if you’ve read most of my fashion blog posts, you’ll start to realize that nearly EVERYTHING I have comes from Forever 21 (or the occasional thrift store!).

Now, it’s still the beginning of school, so as usual I was racking my brain for ideas of cute and fun outfits to wear that will make a statement; not only do you want to make a good impression, like I’ve mentioned before, but making a statement gets you noticed by your teachers and peers, and that’s always something I shoot for when I’m in new settings. For this look, I chose to try something different and wear complementary colors in the same outfit for once! I guess the only time I’ve made an exception for that is Christmas, but it’s a holiday, you’ve got to get in the spirit somehow.

Yet on any normal day, matching complementary colors together and not looking like a sixth grade art project can be quite the challenge. I’ve always seen celebrities or other fashion bloggers pull it off, and I never could understand how. After looking at pictures on Pinterest for hours on end, I think I’ve finally cracked the code- it’s all in the shade. It can be tricky business, but if you have the right kind of blue and the right kind of orange, it can make for an amazing ensemble.

Matching this outfit together was actually not as hard as I thought it might be. I recently bought the mustard tank top for a sale price of $4.00 (I know!!!), and I knew I wanted to wear it soon before the weather gets too chilly, so I started with that for my main color. The various flowers and prominent pops of yellow on the purple headband made it an easy choice for my second color for completing my “complementary” look. Plus, the headband and tank top aren’t RIGHT next to each other, so I didn’t have to worry too much about whether or not the final product would look like.

Now, as I said before- it’s all in the shade. You’ll notice that both my yellow and purple are very muted and dark, really more of a mustard and plum. That’s what made them work so well together, because they were on the exact opposite sides of the color wheel! I wasn’t matching dark purple to a pale yellow, or a lavender to that mustard color; then you could possibly have a fashion faux pas on your hands.

To complete the look, I decided that a pair of dark wash jeans would look the best. For the shoes and bag, I decided to go with a dark brown with a slightly reddish tint. I’m trying to think of a rhyme or reason of why I went with all these colors, but really it all came down to what I thought looked good in the moment before I walked out the door. I just felt that with the floral headband and sunny skies, sandals would be the best choice, and these happened to be the best-looking for this specific outfit. To top ALL of that off, I finally slid on one of my favorite brown watches which to my surprise matched perfectly; the little sunflower in the middle gave me yet another pop of yellow for the outfit, helping to tie in the other brown accessories.

I hope you all have had a lovely week, and I’m praying that the next one will be even better for you! For everyone going to school, keep on rockin’ it, only like 9 months to go! If you have any questions or comments regarding this blog post, please, let me know! I’d love to hear from all of you! Have an amazing Saturday night. (:

Kisses,

Kay

2 thoughts on “Quite the Complementary Look: OOTD!

Leave a comment